Sufi Answers on Matthew 15:9 and Mark 7:7

In the Name of Allah Most Merciful Most Beneficent

Peace and Blessings of Allah be upon the Prophets, especially upon the Prophet of End of Times our Master Nabi Muhammad alaihiswalathu wa salam.

This article ,  I am writing here as it was inspired to me while talking to Christians, yesterday after Juma .

When pointed out to Christians that, no disciples or their followers worshiped Christ as ‘God’. But the worship mentioned in the scripture was only a reverence and honoring paid to Christ by his followers. After Christ (Peace be upon him) ascended to heavens, there is no record of worship throughout the books of the New Testament authors!.

So if Christ was God and he is to be worshipped as a deity, then how come after Christ ascended to heavens, the disciples and their followers forsaken worship of Christ! . Unfortunately, Christian world is beating around the bush to my questions!

Therefore, I decided to write this into the blog with clear and irrefutable references to this topics.

From the Gospel of Matthew:

Matthew 15:7-9 You hypocrites! Isaiah was right when he prophesied about you:”‘These people honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me.They worship me in vain; their teachings are merely human rules.'” (NIV)

From the Gospel of Mark:

Mark 7:6-9 He replied, “Isaiah was right when he prophesied about you hypocrites; as it is written: “‘These people honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me.He replied, “Isaiah was right when he prophesied about you hypocrites; as it is written: “‘These people honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me.You have let go of the commands of God and are holding on to human traditions.” And he continued, “You have a fine way of setting aside the commands of God in order to observe your own traditions! (NIV)

The Book of Isaiah

Isaiah 29:19 The Lord says: “These people come near to me with their mouth and honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. Their worship of me is based on merely human rules they have been taught.

The Christians take the verses from Isaiah 29:19 and Matthew 15:9 and Mark 7:7 to interpret and says that :”Jesus is God , because Jesus say the same thing the Lord says in Isaiah”.

My questions to Christians is , if the disciples understood this verses as the Christians says today, then how come the disciples and their followers failed to worship Christ, after Christ ascended?
There is no worship of Christ as God/Deity in the Entire New Testament.  The verses that says: “They worshiped him/they worshiped Christ/worshiped Jesus” is an act of honouring the Prophet/Holy one. Such types of “Worship” is mentioned throughout in the Bible given to other Prophets or relatives among Prophets.
Like Jacob Worshiped Esau, Moses worshiped Jethro etc!
For example:

Daniel 2:46 Then the king Nebuchadnezzar fell upon his face, and worshipped Daniel, and commanded that they should offer an oblation and sweet odours unto him.

This types of “worship” is not denied by Prophet Daniel or other Prophets, because it was not a worship as Deity/Divine!

The worship of Christ in the New Testament was just as the worship of other Prophets by their relatives or visitors.
Those who come to visit Christ (Disciples or other people) paid homage to him by falling in his feet and kissing them, this is called worship. Such events recorded only 7 times in the Bible and only four times from the disciples. In 3 years  only three times disciples worshiped Jesus and there is no group worship at all (???). This prove the Christian claim of Jesus to be a deity is false claim!

Those who worshiped  Christ was an act of showing reverence, such practice is still exist in the traditional religious communities. Catholics and Orthodox followers still fall on their feet and worship pope.

Such Worship occurred when a particular person visits Christ, he bow down and pay homage to Christ and no one else who are already there doing worship of Christ. or when Christ arrives a place and someone who is so much emotional and need his help bowing down and revere him as a Holy Man and Prophet of God!

Such worship is only recorded upon the arrival and departure of Christ or upon the arrival and departure of the disciples or others who seek his help! No time in the life of disciples we can find a consistent and established worshiping Christ , so to even think Christ was worshiped as God is so much irrational!

 

THE TRUTH ABOUT ISAIAH 29:19, MATTHEW 15:9 AND MARK 7:7:

If Someone want to take this verses out of context he can establish Jesus is god, just as I can establish “Advocate” who is to come after Christ, is “the Father Himself” just by taking some verses from the Bible and interpret it out of context!

Therefore,We ask for truth not for some earthly mininterpreations!

The Words of Christ in Mark 7:6-9 does not prove Jesus is God, just because Jesus Christ repeating it that verse in the Scripture. They Worship Me in vain, does not prove the Lord of Isaiah is Jesus in the Matthew 15:9 and Mark 7:7.

Because Jesus Christ (Peace be upon him) did say that the word he is speaking is not his word but He was just conveying the word of the One who sent him!

See John 7:16 Jesus answered, “My teaching is not my own. It comes from the one who sent me.

Luke 10:16 “Whoever listens to you listens to me; whoever rejects you rejects me; but whoever rejects me rejects him who sent me.”

“Whoever listens to you listens to me” is it because Jesus and God are one?

Bible says no: John 14:10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work.

John 14:10 Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works. (King James Bible)

The Spirit of God Dwells in His Holy Servant (See Isaiah 42:1), Jesus did not say: I am the Father”, he said “I am In the Father, the Father is in me”

According to a Turkish Christian I met yesterday in Luton, he claimed only Jesus is God, because Only in Jesus, the Spirit of God Rests. So Jesus is God!

And I asked, him then everyone who follow Gospel can be considered as God and Deity and can be worshipped according to your claim and theology! Because it is said in  Corinthians, See
1 Corinthians 3:16 Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst?

The Spirit of God rest in Flesh is not exclusive to Christ, so if Christ become deity because God’s Spirit in him (Islam testifies Jesus being the bearer of Spirit of God with the title “RoohuALLAH) then all this disciples and those people to whom Paul writing to, all of them are gods/deities because God’s Spirit dwells in them!

The Scripture Proves that “Spirit of God” Rests in the Holy Servant is not Exclusive to Christ!

See: Acts 2:17 “‘In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams.

Acts 2:18 Even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days, and they will prophesy.

Joel 2:28 “And afterward, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions.

So how can someone claim that, the Spirit of God is Only in Christ and that make Christ deity?

Someone may argue that Christ is the Mighty and Powerful. But Christ’s own words refute such false thoughts!

See John 14:12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.

So according to the irrational Christian theology those who do greater work than Christ must be a greater deity than Jesus!

So God Speaks through Christ as “Revelations” and that’s what happened later.
Christians forsake worshiping God of Jesus and Started worshiping Jesus Christ. So Worshiping the Lord God came in Vain though worshiping Jesus!

The rest of the verses in Mark 7:-8-9 proves how the worshiping Christ became worshiping God in vain!

Mark 7:8 You have let go of the commands of God and are holding on to human traditions.”

Mark 7:9 And he continued, “You have a fine way of setting aside the commands of God in order to observe your own traditions!

This verses in it’s whole context defines what is the meaning of “Worshiping God in vain” in relations to Christ saying; “They WIll Worship me in vain”.
It predict Christians took Jesus as deity and worship him as God , instead of worshiping the God of Abraham (alaihissalam)

That is by abandoning commands of God and holding on to human traditions!. As there is no commandment in the scripture (New Testament) to worship Jesus as Deity or God!

The Commandment is:  John 4:23 Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in the Spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks.

John 4:24 God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.”

God Will Not Change (Malachi 3:6), nor He Yield His Glory to Another (Isaiah 42:8, Isaiah 42:11), God is Eternal in His Nature, God Will not Become Human, but He is Spirit and Truth (Haqq).

WORSHIPING JESUS IN VAIN, PROPHESY IN ISAIAH 9:6 :

In Isaiah 9:6 It did not say (Jesus Christ ) he is everlasting Father and Mighty God. But Isaiah Prophesied the “Child” born WILL BE Called Everlasting Father and Mighty God.

This Prophecy came true, when Christians took Jesus as Deity and Worshiped him as God [The true Everlasting Father -Rabb-and Mighty God -Ilaah- is God of Israel) to Whom Christ Prostrated, prayed and worshiped in fervent Cries and Reverences (See Hebrews 5:7] and even fulfilled the Prophesy of Christ in Matthew 15:9 and Mark 7:7, as there is no Covenant Law or No Commandment or no Tradition to worship Christ as Deity or God!

Hebrews 5:7 While Jesus was here on earth, he offered prayers and pleadings, with a loud cry and tears, to the one who could rescue him from death. And God heard his prayers because of his deep reverence for God. [NLT]

John 5:30 By myself I can do nothing; I judge only as I hear, and my judgment is just, for I seek not to please myself but him who sent me.

This is enough for those who seek truth and want to submit to the truth.

Peace be upon the Prophets of Allah , praise be to Allah Lord of the Worlds.

~ Jouhar Ali Naqshbandi Al-Hassani
*Representative of the Exalted Naqshbandi Sufi Order

 

 

Leave a Reply

